Tags

, , , , , ,

So a couple weeks ago I fell into a bit of a depressive slump. I didn’t want to gt out of bed and I didn’t want to leave my room, I didn’t want to eat or see anyone. Thankfully I pulled myself out of it before the new semester started but it got me thinking about the way I live my life and the mindset I have while I go about my day.

I don’t know what depression feels like to other people, for me it feels like a cross between being numb and drowning, being immersed in water with everything around me being muffled and I just can’t care about anything no matter how hard I try.

It’s gotten easier over the years to pull myself out of these slumps not because the depression is going away, depression is not¬†something that goes away I have just found strategies that work for me when it comes to dealing with it.

Which brings me to my new leaf!

I have resolved to do the following every day:

  • 20-30 minutes of some form of exercise
  • 30 minutes of meditation and reflection
  • focus on the positive (I got out of bed, I got dressed, I went to class)
  • Fight the voice in the back of my head trying to bring me down
  • eat and drink healthier
  • be thankful for the support of my family

It might not seem like much but for someone like me who struggles to do the day to day stuff it is a lot of work.

But I am going to do it! this is my new leaf and I am determined to do my best.

 

