Tags

, , , , ,

captain-america

So Captain America has been a beloved comic book character since his introduction in March of 1941.

So when I first encountered Captain America in Captain America: The First Avenger I didn’t expect to actively dislike the character, a dislike that grew with each new appearance on the big screen and in the comics.

I found Steve Rogers to be somewhat tolerable in Captain America: The First Avenger but over the course of his development within the Marvel Cinematic Universe I came to find him self-righteous, sanctimonious and unwilling to see other points of view. This perspective of him was cemented with the recent Captain America: Civil War movie in which Steve Rogers decided he knew better than the UN and all the countries involved and refused to even consider that he was wrong or that there were other ways of going about expressing his point of view.

One of my major peeves with the Marvel Cinematic Universe is they never address they fact that a man dressed like the american flag bearing the name Captain AMERICA just crosses into foreign countries without permission from said country and trashes their property and at times cause injury to the citizens of that country and never has to answer for those trespasses.

So I can say definitively that I can not stand Captain America.

 

