Tags

, , ,

Recently for my Creative Writing Class we had to hand in a portfolio of work we’d done during the semester. One of the pieces I handed in was an outsiders POV (Point of View) about a scene in the novel I’m working on and I’d like to get your opinions.

So read the piece down below and let me know what you think!

There was blood everywhere.

It covered the walls, the floor, the furniture and even the ceiling.

I was the first officer on the scene and the second I saw the nauseating crime scene in front of me I wanted to toss my cookies. I’ve been a cop for 35 years and I’ve never seen anything like this.

The officers wondering around the scene had a decidedly green tinge to their skin and you could hear the less experienced officers retching in the bushes. Though to be fair it was a gruesome scene.

Even the more experienced officers, those that wouldn’t normally be affected looked like they wanted to be sick.

All except Detective Stone. She was a legend in the department. They called her the Stone Cold Bitch, and she lived up to the name.

Det. Stone lifted the tarp covering the body, not a single expression on her face and I almost lost my lunch for a second time that day.

The body looked like it had been mauled by a wild animal. Slashes covered every surface, there were parts that looked like they had been gnawed on and the victim’s eyes were missing. It was the most horrific crime scene I had ever worked.

As I watched the crime scene techs snap pictures of the corpse the roiling feeling in my stomach intensified.

My sight started to blur, the world started to spin and I finally passed out.

